​ Board Members




Ms Anne Skipper AM

Board Chair

Ms Anne Skipper AM was appointed as the AHIP Board Chair in March 2023.

Anne has more than 30 years of experience as a company director in the not-for-profit, government and private sector, both nationally and internationally and provides significant expertise in corporate governance to the Board.

Professor Justin Beilby


Professor Justin Beilby is a Director of the CALHN Board and is the CALHN nominee to the AHIP Board.

Justin is also the Emeritus Professor at Torrens University Australia, Australia’s 40th comprehensive University, after previously serving as Vice-Chancellor from 2015 -2020.

With outstanding expertise in primary care and aged care research, health service evaluation and general practice intervention studies, Justin has a passion for the translation of research findings into policy and clinical practice.

He also holds several Board Director positions, including with the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI).

Justin has supervised the establishment of educational and research partnerships in the United States, India, Malaysia and Thailand and was chosen as one of twelve Commissioners for the National Health and Hospital Reform Commission in 2008 to develop a new model for the Australian healthcare system.

He is also pursuing his ongoing research activities and continues to practice as a general practitioner (GP).


Emeritus Professor Michael Brooks


Emeritus Professor Michael Brooks is a Professor in the School of Computer Science at the University of Adelaide, previously serving as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Provost and Interim Vice-Chancellor and is the University of Adelaide’s nominee to the AHIP Board.

Michael is an experience researcher in the artificial intelligence and robotics fields of image and video understanding, publishing extensively in computer vision.

He is a Fellow of both the Australian Computer Society and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and is the holder of an honorary doctorate from the University of Nottingham.

Michael has served on numerous research-institute boards, including the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute, the Women’s and Children’s Health Research Institute, and National ICT Australia, the forerunner of CSIRO’s Data61.

Professor Caroline Miller


Professor Caroline Miller is the Director of the Health Policy Centre at SAHMRI and is the SAHMRI nominee to the AHIP Board.

The Health Policy Centre at SAHMRI undertakes research in public health prevention – specialising in tobacco control, obesity prevention, COVID-19 policy and alcohol. The Centre delivers timely and relevant evidence to inform public health policy decision-making, social marketing campaigns, and other public health interventions to change health behaviors and reduce the preventable burdens of disease. The Centre brings decades of experience in tobacco control campaigns, and recent experience in alcohol and maternal health.

Caroline’s doctoral studies were in social marketing, she is also an NHMRC Emerging Leadership Fellow 2 at the University of Adelaide.

Caroline is qualified in Psychology, Economics and Public Health.

Ms Alice DeBats

Company Secretary

Ms Alice DeBats is a corporate lawyer and was appointed as AHIP’s Company Secretary in November 2023.